SWITCHNOLLIE

To answer your question: No, a switch nollie is not a real thing. It was simply a pseudo-trick name to exemplify people’s like for misnaming tricks, resulting in a lot of heated and unnecessary arguments about what trick is named what, “fakie ollie switch backside tailslide” or “fakie ollie frontside nose slide” for instance. People will claim that they know exactly what it is, but I can almost guarantee you that there will be at least one person to object and say that it is the total opposite or something else completely different from the two. These arguments usually go no where, and it leaves all the ones involved feeling like nothing has been accomplished and they that are still absolutely sure that they are right.

SneekMay_2x
New Thrasher May 2016 Issue

As an example, let’s use the newest cover of the Thrasher Magazine, Jerry Hsu’s nollie 180 nosegrind or nollie 180 fakie 5-0, and that is the dilemma. Some will call it the former, while others will probably call it the latter. It doesn’t really matter either way, it can probably be called both names and be perfectly fine, because the trick itself is insane, so insane that it may even deserve two trick names in order to contain the pure madness of it. I am not sure who is the President of Skateboarding Trick Names, but whoever it is isn’t doing too good of a job keeping these names under strict regulation, maybe I should just appoint myself the position. “Mr. President, watch this new part, this is totally a never before seen trick, what would you call this?” I could handle that position, being the point Trick Name Giver, giving tricks a place to call home. I’ve had a lot of conversations between friends about certain trick names, which about more than half of the time lead to no where, and both of us are mad at each other because were are sure that the other is wrong. Yes, actually mad at each other because of our surety that we are right about a trick name. Sounds dumb? So be it, but I knew I was right.

And by the way, a Switch Nollie is technically just a Fakie Ollie.

3 thoughts on “SWITCHNOLLIE

  1. Just wanted to let you know that I saw that you “liked” my bit-sizer/confession…and I wanted to let you know that I have a soft spot in my heart for your blog…of all of the ones that caught me off guard (in terms of being something I was unfamiliar with, and wouldn’t have imagined relating to) yours has been the most gratifying–and on a number of levels… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow. This literally just made my day, and possibly my weekend. I am glad to have come across your blog, and as well that I have been able to show you something different than what you normally come across. You seriously inspire me to keep it up, and I am extremely appreciative. Thank You!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

