Blogger Recognition Award

I’ve never been nominated for anything. I surely wouldn’t have expected to be nominated for anything that has to do with writing, so this means a lot more than anybody may know. I don’t know what else to write for this introduction, so I’ll just let ‘er rip..

Thank You Natalie Schriefer for nominating me!

The rules are as follows:

  • Write a post to show your award
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give advice to new bloggers
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to

How and Why I Started This Blog 

I started skateboarding when I was 12, and I still do it (almost) every day. It’s something that I love to do, and the love just kind of never dimmed. I started writing around the time I started college – how this happened is a entirely different story that doesn’t need any delving in. The writing was on a pretty on and off basis, and I didn’t at all take it seriously. It wasn’t until two (three?) months ago I was listening to a podcast with a guy named Templeton Elliot speaking about skateboarding and just creating in general, and there was mention of blogging about skating, and I thought “Gee, golly, how cool would that be!” Giving myself a reason to write more and to talk about skating sounded like a great idea. And here we are now, at this very moment. That is why you are reading this.

Advice

Not really in a position to give advice to anyone. But I have learned a great amount about writing from just these few months.

Like from reading Natalie’s post about her award (the person who nominated me), she mentioned to just write. It’s literally that simple, you wouldn’t even believe it. No matter if it sucks (it may not), or you read what you wrote and find it weird, it doesn’t matter, just keep doing it. The only way to get better is to keep it going no matter what.

Something else I would like to mention -although it may be contrary to what I just said – is to not force it upon yourself. If you find yourself writing and it feels like work (in the worst sense), and you feel like you’re having to push yourself – not the good “push,” but to the point of you disliking it, then you should take a breather.

Nominations 

I’m supposed to nominate 15 other blogs, but I honestly don’t know 15 other blogs, so I’ll some peeps that I think are cool (don’t feel obligated to post if you don’t want to):

Natalie Schriefer

The person who nominated me. Her blog touches on subjects such as gender equality and gender stereotyping. Give it a peek, I think you’ll enjoy it!

Truly Unplugged

One of the most creative people I’ve seen on WordPress thus far. How she comes up with these witty and humorous stories is beyond me. And also, she’s working on a novel, can’t wait for that!

(Over) Analysing Literature

Does really great book reviews. Has a lot of posts related to books that I have find funny. She also has a “slight” obsession with the book Les Miserables.

Thot Mag

Many informative and thought-provoking posts. Out to help you find substantial things on the far too crowded Internet.

 

2 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Awww thank you so much for the nomination!!! I’ve received this one before, but I really appreciate it. Cool story; I think it’s great that you’re combining two things you love. Good advice too, about taking a breather when needed. No one should ever force themselves to write, especially if they’re writing as a hobby.

    (By the way, your site looks amazing! I usually look at your posts in my reader, so I haven’t seen the actual site in a while, andI notice you must have redesigned it at some point along the line. Very cool. Quite crisp and clean.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

