ceaseless amazement

I’m amazed that I’m still amazed about the concept of skateboarding – thinking about it down to its barest function, it baffles me that it is even possible, and yet, somehow, I do it. How can I possibly be doing something that I barely have a full understanding of? I don’t know, and it’s something that I have grown to accept. I guess it’s just one of those things that you don’t think about, you just do it. In fact, that’s exactly what it is.

(Or rather, think about it, but don’t overthink about it, which, given my temperament, I am pretty prone to doing. With skating though, it seems that the longer you think about a trick, the less the chances are that you will commit to that first attempt. You’ll be going to a spot 120 minutes away; and during those 120 minutes, it’s quite possible that you may have been thinking about the trick.. and thinking.. and thinking. And by the time you get there, you probably psyched yourself out, and you no longer want to do it.)

And I understand that it comes down to practice, but c’com, we have guys doing kickflips off of twenty stairs (*ahem* Dave Bachinsky) – I don’t care how long a person has been “practicing,” skateboarding will never not amaze me. As if the amount of time someone has been riding a skateboard makes their skating less impressing.

But my amazement doesn’t just begin and end at stairs. Skating ledges and doing manuals is just as amazing, although it may not be as gnarly to some people’s liking, but it takes heaps of precision and a lot of discipline to learn. Being able to ollie, aim, land, and lock into a specific grind takes muscle memory and cognitive strength, not to mention the madness involved in the process of learning certain tricks.

It makes me still feel like a kid, the fact that I can still be in utter amazement when I see a cool trick. For this I am grateful; for many adults, as growth continues, the excitement of life begins to die out -well, with having a job you don’t want, bills you don’t want to pay, and other life obligations that you don’t want to have anything to do with – and things become bland and mundane. But skating, it never fails to bring me joy, joy very similar to that that I felt when I was still a child. Like seeing a bug I’ve never seen before for the first time, and being struck with excitement at it, it was something new.

It keeps life interesting, and me interested in it.

3 thoughts on “ceaseless amazement

  1. “For many adults, as growth continues, the excitement of life begins to die out -well, with having a job you don’t want, bills you don’t want to pay, and other life obligations that you don’t want to have anything to do with – and things become bland and mundane. But skating, it never fails to bring me joy.”

    Well said 🙂 I’m glad you’ve found something that inspires such excitement — few people do! Rock on.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

