the angry man: the true you

I’m aware that the title sounds a bit negative, but this is a truth behind skateboarding: aside from the joy of making friends and learning new tricks, not all of it is fun and positivity. It may not be the True you, in the purest sense, but it is one of the Yous that skateboarding has the potential to bring out. The You who is pushed to the limit, to the edge of madness, to the line that divides the sane from the insane.

(Just take a peep at this intro to Kerry Getz’ part in Skatemore, and you’ll be able to see (and hear) exactly what I am talking about:)

There’s a lot of frustration, anger, and exasperation that comes as baggage along with skateboarding. There is virtually no way around this, unless you are the calmest person on the earth, you will, at some point or other, if you try hard enough, find yourself screaming at the top of your lungs, or just feel pure anger in the pit of your heart at not being able to land a certain trick.

I’ve been there. We’ve all been there.

It’s a struggle at times, but for the most part, it’s usually an obstacle that can be gotten over in time – maybe that day, possibly that week, or, if Life is really displaying its dislike for you, you’ll be lucky if you make it that month.

Hard times are just a part of life.

5 thoughts on “the angry man: the true you

  1. So very true…and, not just in the context of skateboarding (as you astutely point out)…I just want you to know that you have crossed my mind often…I’ve been unplugged for almost 2 months….having moved into my newly-purchased home, it took me forever to muster the time/energy to have internet installed…and, by the time I ordered it, it took two weeks before they were successful. Anyway, I have a cold (so many people at work have been hit by it) and my energy levels are low (for now)…so, I am going to read/watch some more of your posts, but won’t likely comment because my head is all stuffy (and, trying to articulate is a challenge). But, I hope you remember how immensely impressive I know you to be…and, how much I love what, and how, you share 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Truly! So happy to hear from you!
      Yeah, as you know, a large amount of these posts can be seen from many different POVs. You’ve crossed my mind as well, plenty of times. I figured it had to be something external, couldn’t imagine that you’d just up and stop. Considering the move and you getting sick, it is all totally understandable. I really appreciate you taking the time to read certain posts that you’ve missed, that takes some time. I’m glad that you’re back, and I can’t wait to read more of your blogposts.
      Honestly, I have been finding it a bit hard to write lately, and not only write, but to get myself into doing anything at all, just in a sort of rut I guess. I assume these things happen from time to time, and until then, I will keep faking it until I make it.
      And again, I’m glad you’re back! aha.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is so great to hear from you, too…and, I, too, have been in a bit of a rut as well . So much going on at once has taken some of the wind out of my sails, but lots of experience has taught me that this, too, shall pass. Wonderful and bright days ate ahead, my friend 🙂 Keep on keeping on…I’m praying for you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

