writing and the act itself

I’ve realized that one cannot write about something in which one has no experience. That seems quite self-evident, almost the same as saying something as obvious as… water is wet. But although it sounds obvious, maybe it really isn’t, it seems like the most obvious things are easiest to go on undetected. This is the case a lot of the time.

Not just writing, but working a job in which one does not have any experience and/or does not care about what lies at the center of their job. There are plenty of people who work at skateshops and do not care one bit about skateboarding and the culture, nor the future that lies ahead and would be just as fine working at Marshall’s; it’s all the same to them.

All of this is to say that one should not engage themselves in something in which what lies at the center is something they couldn’t care any less about. Doing something that you don’t care about day in and day out has the potential to really eat you up, that or you’re probably just a drag when it comes to progression of said job. All of that is to say that the physical act of skateboarding and writing about skateboarding go – absolutely must go – hand-in-hand. There is no way around this. Not skateboarding, but writing about skateboarding is analogous to being a traveling writer and never having traveled to a different city. You have to engage yourself in the act in order to know anything about it, knowledge of theory is simply not enough.

I say this because it dawned on me that writing about skating seems to be much tougher to do when I find that I haven’t done it in, let’s say, 7 days (that does not sound very long, but it is, trust me). How can I find the inspiration to talk about something that I haven’t physically done in a week? It’s possible, but is not the same as if I had done it the previous day. The two things are inextricably tied, and it cannot be any other way; it’s as if one propels me to do the other (when I write about it, it makes me want to do it; when I do it, it makes me want to write about it.), and it becomes this closed loop full of never-ending force, one spawning the other eternally.

All of that is to say that I should skate more.

 

 

Leave a Reply

